California Penal Code for Public Intoxication
Residents of Roseville may assume that as long as they don’t get behind the wheel and try to drive, they don’t have to worry about how much alcohol they consume when they are not at home. While the choice to absolutely not drive after drinking is always sensible, that doesn’t mean you can get as drunk as you want without legal consequences. There is always a chance that a night of heavy drinking at the club could result in needing a Roseville bail bond after getting arrested for public intoxication in California. Public intoxication law draws from the California Penal code is 647(F) and reads as follows: California Penal Code 647f PC makes public intoxication a crime when you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol, in a public place, to the point of being unable to care for your safety or that of others. This offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months of jail time and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Bail Bond Fees for Public Intoxication in Roseville, CA
If you are facing public intoxication charges, you may be required to post a Roseville bail bond to secure your release from the Placer County Jail. Typically, the Roseville bail bond amount for public intoxication is $1,000.00, and the fee to a Roseville Bail Bond agency would be $100.00.
What Could Happen if You are Publicly Inebriated
If you’re so inebriated that you aren’t aware of your surroundings and start walking down the middle of the road, you risk being arrested and charged with public intoxication. A person may also face criminal charges if they are intoxicated while out in public and start making threats or behaving in a dangerous manner. Disorderly conduct can happen more easily when someone is overly intoxicated in public, and one may end up disturbing the peace of others. Additionally, if you damage property while publicly intoxicated you will be liable to pay for the destruction.
A police officer may allow you to sober up by placing you in what is referred to as a “drunk tank.” In California, police officers can hold a person up to 72 hours in “civil protective custody” for observation and treatment. Sobering up in civil protective custody is only an option where a drunk tank is accessible and if the police officer believes you will be easy enough to control.
What if You Get Charged with Public Intoxication
If the police decide to charge you with a criminal offense due to public intoxication, the Placer County Jail will wait for you to become sober before they start your booking process. Once your booking process is complete you can post a Roseville Bail Bond and be released from custody. Frank Calabretta’s Bail House is available 24/7 for Roseville bail bonds and our office is located Directly Across From the Placer County Jail. Although public intoxication won’t impact driving history, the charge can show up in a background check and could potentially hinder opportunities in work, school, or living situations.
Underage Public Intoxication
If someone under the age of 21 is convicted of public intoxication, they may lose their driver’s licence for one year. If the underage person convicted of public intoxication does not yet have a driver’s licence the court may order the Department of Motor Vehicles to delay issuing a driver’s license for one year after that person becomes legally eligible to drive. See the California Vehicle Code Section 13202.5 for further details.